Limited Conservatorships

If a disabled or elderly individual is not able to manage the responsibilities his or her life because of physical or mental limitations, a conservatorship may be needed. A conservatorship is a court proceeding in which a judge appoints a person to make financial and/or health care decisions for a person who is incapacitated.

There are several main types of conservatorships: a general conservatorship (for an elderly or disabled person), a limited conservatorship (for a developmentally disabled person, typically part of a regional center) and an LPS conservatorship (for a person with several mental health challenges). Note that these proceedings are often called “guardianships” in other states; in California, a proceeding for a person over age 18 is called a “conservatorship,” while a proceeding for someone under age 18 is called a “guardianship.”

At Cookman Law, we assist with limited conservatorships for developmentally disabled individuals living in San Mateo County or Santa Clara County. We do not assist with general conservatorships or LPS conservatorships. If you believe your developmentally disabled adult child or relative might need to be conserved, we are available for an initial consultation to discuss your options.

Practice Areas

Estate Planning
Special Needs
Trust Administration
Elder Law

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Posted by: kshain on October 27, 2015